Thursday, November 30, 2023
HomeRoboticsMeet the 6 Engelberger Award winners

Meet the 6 Engelberger Award winners

Take heed to this text

Voiced by Amazon Polly
Engelberger award winners

The recipients of the 2022 Engelberger Award (left to proper, beginning prime left): Michael Jacobs, Oussama Khatib, Marc Raibert, Bertil Thorvaldsson, Bruno Siciliano and Melonee Smart. Supply: A3

Editor’s Notice: Melonee Smart, Normal Supervisor of Robotics Automation at Zebra Applied sciences, might be keynoting our Robotics Summit & Expo, which takes place Might 10-11 in Boston. Her discuss, “Why the Cloud is a Pressure Multiplier for Robotics,” will give attendees modern use circumstances and examples of how cloud know-how and purposes have modified and can proceed to alter within the face of cell robots. The keynote will happen on Might 11 from 9:00 AM to 9:45 AM. 

The Affiliation for Advancing Automation (A3) introduced its six recipients of the 2022 Engelberger Robotics Awards: Michael P. Jacobs of Utilized Manufacturing Applied sciences (AMT), Oussama Khatib of Stanford College, Marc Raibert of Boston Dynamics, Bertil Thorvaldsson of ABB, Bruno Siciliano of the College of Naples and Melonee Smart of Zebra Applied sciences

A3 will current three of the awards to Jacobs, Khatib and Raibert on the Automate 2022 Present and Convention in Detroit. The awards for Thorvaldsson, Siciliano and Smart might be introduced at Automatica in Munich. 

The Engelberger awards acknowledge leaders in robotics for excellence in know-how improvement, software, schooling and management. Since they started in 1977, 134 roboticists from 17 completely different nations have been acknowledged. 

“Because the robotics business grows, so does our checklist of extraordinarily proficient nominees deserving of this coveted Engelberger Award,” Jeff Burnstein, president of A3, mentioned. “Of their distinctive methods, every of those six outstanding people have performed outstanding roles in shaping the robotics business we’re part of at this time, from educating future roboticists to advancing the position of cell, industrial and collaborative robotics in manufacturing amenities and warehouses alike. We anticipate extra nice issues from this yr’s winners and look ahead to celebrating them at Automate and Automatica.”

A have a look at the winners

The honorees have been chosen by the previous chairs of the A3 Know-how Technique Board. Two of this yr’s winners are being honored for his or her management, two for schooling and two for know-how. 

Jacobs, the founder and CEO of AMT, is being honored for his management. Earlier than founding AMT, he pioneered the product improvement and market introduction of robotic simulation and offline programming methods at GMF Robotics, now FANUC. 

Thorvaldsson, the overall product supervisor at ABB, may also be honored for his management. Thorvaldsson joined the corporate in 1976.

Khatib, a roboticist and professor of laptop science at Stanford, and Siciliano, a professor of automated management on the College of Naples Federico II, have been each awarded for schooling. Khatib is credited with seminal work in a number of areas, together with robotic movement planning and management, human-friendly robotic design, haptic interplay and human movement synthesis. 

Siciliano is an Italian engineer and scientific populizer. On the College of Naples, Siciliano is the director of the ICAROS Heart and coordinator of the PRISMA Lab on the Division of Electrical Engineering and Info Know-how. 

The final two recipients, Raibert and Smart, have been awarded for know-how. Raibert is the founder, former CEO and at present chairman of Boston Dynamics. Smart was the CEO of Fetch Robotics. In 2021, Fetch was acquired by Zebra Applied sciences, the place Smart now serves as Normal Supervisor of Robotics Automation. 

“I’m really honored to obtain the Joseph Engelberger award for Know-how,” Smart mentioned. “Simply as Engelberger solid the trail of business robots in manufacturing automation, the Fetch Robotics workforce has adopted in his footsteps to carry AMRs to the forefront of producing and logistics automation. I’m deeply impressed by Engelberger’s work, and with Zebra, I hope to proceed to push the boundaries of robotics know-how to allow the adoption of robotics in new industries and purposes.”

The Engelberger Award is called after Joseph F. Engelberger, the founding drive behind industrial robotics. Every winner receives a $5,000 honorarium and commemorative medallion. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments